#1 Burning Software

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:07 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: CacheObject allocation error
PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 7:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:20 pm
Posts: 18
Good morning,

I have an application which is happily running on hundreds of Winows XP computers with a wide variety of configurations. It has recently begun to be installed on Windows 7 computers and we are seeing a problem with Starburn on these installations. It only occurs in Windows 7, and it only occurs when using Pioneer BDR-206D optical drives. The problem is that after the application has been running for a while (typically after processing somewhere between 20 and 30 discs) the following function call fails:

Code:
result = StarBurn_CdvdBurnerGrabber_Create(&m_Handle, textresult, sizeof(textresult), &sysresult, &cdbinfo, (PCALLBACK) StarBurnCallback, this, m_PortId, m_BusId, m_TargetId, m_LUN, 0);


It fails with the following error message:
Quote:
Error 4 'CStarBurn_CacheObject::CStarBurn_CacheObject(): Failed to allocate memory'


Our application always (to the best of my knowledge, and given that the problem only occurs in Windows 7 with a specific drive I believe this is true) releases the allocated drive handle thusly:
Code:
StarBurn_Destroy(&m_Handle);


Since we do allocate and release the drive handles several times per disc, it would seem there is a memory leak in Starburn. Further evidence of this can be seen when comparing the starting memory usage of the application (1,588K) with the memory usage at the point of failure in Starburn (900,000K+).

Is this a known issue? Is there a known or anticipated fix?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CacheObject allocation error
PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 7:19 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 4089
Location: British Virgin Islands
1) What StarBurn SDK version are you running?

2) Can you send full debug log to support@starburnsoftware.com?

Initially sounds like PC is running out of virtual memory. For a reason...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CacheObject allocation error
PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 10:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:20 pm
Posts: 18
The DLL is version 12.0.0.272. I'll send a log file as soon as I can generate one.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CacheObject allocation error
PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 6:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:20 pm
Posts: 18
It appears that my client no longer has the debug version of this DLL. Can you provide it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CacheObject allocation error
PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2013 7:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:20 pm
Posts: 18
I managed to track down a debug version of the DLL and reproduce the error. Here is a log file from that batch. The error, of course, occurs at the end.


Attachments:
Starburn.zip [14.7 KiB]
Downloaded 2306 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CacheObject allocation error
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 1:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 8:44 am
Posts: 609
Thanx,

We are checking this issue!

Regards,

Dmitry


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CacheObject allocation error
PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2013 10:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:20 pm
Posts: 18
Any progress on this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CacheObject allocation error
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 11:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 4:31 pm
Posts: 452
Hello,

Sorry for delay, there were holidays in our country.
I analysed your log and saw that before first failure were created two device objects with default (for write) cache size. And these device objects weren't destroyed before you tried to create next one. And you used "zero" cache size for device object creation - it's default value for writing (160 MBs). Possibly you didn't have enough free memory at this moment.
Are you using "zero" value of cache parameter while you enumerating devices?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CacheObject allocation error
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 5:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:20 pm
Posts: 18
I'm not sure I understand your question... There is no "cache size" when we initially enumerate the available devices. All device handles are opened with a cache size of zero, though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CacheObject allocation error
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 6:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 4:31 pm
Posts: 452
jtrammell wrote:
I'm not sure I understand your question... There is no "cache size" when we initially enumerate the available devices. All device handles are opened with a cache size of zero, though.


Zero is a special value that tells the toolkit to allocate default cache size (160 MB).
Please use define STARBURN_CACHE_SIZE_READ_ONLY for enumeration and STARBURN_CACHE_SIZE_READ_WRITE when you use object for burning.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CacheObject allocation error
PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 6:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:20 pm
Posts: 18
Okay, I'll give that a shot. I assume that when you say "enumerate", you actually mean "open the device".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CacheObject allocation error
PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2013 8:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 4:31 pm
Posts: 452
jtrammell wrote:
Okay, I'll give that a shot. I assume that when you say "enumerate", you actually mean "open the device".


"Enumerate" - I mean you get the list of the optical drives to show it to the user. And you open(create object) each device with some cache size.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CacheObject allocation error
PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2013 7:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:20 pm
Posts: 18
It looks like that worked, thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CacheObject allocation error
PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2013 8:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 4:31 pm
Posts: 452
Ok :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CacheObject allocation error
PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2013 8:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:20 pm
Posts: 18
Hello again.

Unfortunately it appears that this problem has actually not been solved. It turns out that the problem still exists, it just takes longer for it to surface now (110+ discs instead of 20+ discs). Once again it seems to be that there is a memory leak in Starburn, or perhaps in the driver for the BDR-206D.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group