#1 Burning Software

It is currently Sun Mar 29, 2020 5:50 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: MDS Grabber: ExecuteCDB(): Command failed
PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 3:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 6:00 pm
Posts: 542
When grabbing a DVD to MDS (in this case it's a Win7 DVD) the error attached as log file may occur.

Can anything be done about it?

Regards,
Flo


Attachments:
MDS.zip [10.46 KiB]
Downloaded 739 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MDS Grabber: ExecuteCDB(): Command failed
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 4:46 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 4089
Location: British Virgin Islands
From what I see reading failed near the end of the disc (which is OK actually). Did our API return you an error or you just got improper MDS?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MDS Grabber: ExecuteCDB(): Command failed
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 7:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 6:00 pm
Posts: 542
As far as I know, the OnBadBlockHit event fires.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MDS Grabber: ExecuteCDB(): Command failed
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 8:04 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 4089
Location: British Virgin Islands
It's warning not an error. Unreadable end of the track (beyond file system) is quite common.

flöle wrote:
As far as I know, the OnBadBlockHit event fires.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MDS Grabber: ExecuteCDB(): Command failed
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 8:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 6:00 pm
Posts: 542
Then what method does the SDK give me to determine wheter or not it is a "real" warning? Users obviously only want to know about the uncommon errors.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MDS Grabber: ExecuteCDB(): Command failed
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:32 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 4089
Location: British Virgin Islands
This particular callback is fired when the library hits bad block. It's up to you either to skip this error or stop on it (you pass IsBadBlockIgnore parameter to API call at the very beginning). Ideally you should warn the user and make him decide what to do.

flöle wrote:
Then what method does the SDK give me to determine wheter or not it is a "real" warning? Users obviously only want to know about the uncommon errors.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MDS Grabber: ExecuteCDB(): Command failed
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 6:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 6:00 pm
Posts: 542
This is not useful.

The user needs to know about bad blocks, so I need to enable this warning.

The user, however, does not know whether or not a bad block is at the end of the disc, and even if he knew, he still would not be able to decide whether or not it's a "usual" read error. Even I as programmer don't know it, so how can this information be helpful for the user?


So: Either you tell me an algorithm that allows me as programmer to make the decision whether a bad block is good, or you just don't fire the event in such a case. It doesn't make sense to warn a user unnecessarily.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MDS Grabber: ExecuteCDB(): Command failed
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 6:58 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 4089
Location: British Virgin Islands
There's a "suspected gap area" ~150 blocks at the end of the disc where error can happen.

We always fire an event with LBA number so you can compare it with the end of the disc.

flöle wrote:
This is not useful.

The user needs to know about bad blocks, so I need to enable this warning.

The user, however, does not know whether or not a bad block is at the end of the disc, and even if he knew, he still would not be able to decide whether or not it's a "usual" read error. Even I as programmer don't know it, so how can this information be helpful for the user?


So: Either you tell me an algorithm that allows me as programmer to make the decision whether a bad block is good, or you just don't fire the event in such a case. It doesn't make sense to warn a user unnecessarily.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MDS Grabber: ExecuteCDB(): Command failed
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 8:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 6:00 pm
Posts: 542
Now that you mention it: It seems like the property IgnoreBadBlocks doesn't do anything. I've launched two grabbing processes now, one enabled one disabled, in both cases a bad block was found, but the grabbing process did not abort.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MDS Grabber: ExecuteCDB(): Command failed
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 9:29 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 4089
Location: British Virgin Islands
Should not work this way of course. SDK itself is immune so I guess it's StarBurnX trick. Dima will be back on Monday and he'll take care of it.

flöle wrote:
Now that you mention it: It seems like the property IgnoreBadBlocks doesn't do anything. I've launched two grabbing processes now, one enabled one disabled, in both cases a bad block was found, but the grabbing process did not abort.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MDS Grabber: ExecuteCDB(): Command failed
PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 9:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 6:00 pm
Posts: 542
@Dima: Then don't forget NOT to abort the grabbing process if a bad block, that is not actually a bad block, is found ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MDS Grabber: ExecuteCDB(): Command failed
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 3:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 6:00 pm
Posts: 542
No news yet?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MDS Grabber: ExecuteCDB(): Command failed
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 6:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 8:44 am
Posts: 609
Hello,

I have tested grabbing process... all works "fine" :)! Grabbing process is terminated once the unrecoverable ( bad ) block has been found ( IgnoreBadBlock flag is not set )!

Which version( build number ) of StarBurnX do you use?

Regards,

Dmitry


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MDS Grabber: ExecuteCDB(): Command failed
PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 1:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 6:00 pm
Posts: 542
Log file says "StarBurn Development Kit for Windows Version V12 'Trident II' ( 0x20100423 )", using the previous beta package 20100726.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: MDS Grabber: ExecuteCDB(): Command failed
PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 7:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 8:44 am
Posts: 609
Hello, Yes you are testing the latest version of StarBurnX !

I suppose that you have a bad block at the end of disc so SDK does not stop the grabbing process! Check it please(as Anton told ) and simple ignore this bad block :)

Regards,

Dmitry


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group