#1 Burning Software

It is currently Fri Nov 21, 2014 6:40 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Starburn installs StarPort Storage but not Sptd
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 12:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 12:40 am
Posts: 3
I had Starburn 13 previously on my machine and I downloaded whatever is now available thinking it might be a newer version.

I'm running Win 7 64bit Ultimate.

I also had uninstalled sptd from the drivers section about a week ago because I saw it sitting there and I could not figure out how it got there.

After the reinstallation and reboot, I found the 32 bit version of StarPort Storage controller installed, but not Sptd.
During the installation I did check the box to install the virtual dvd drive.

So why did the previous installation of StarBurn install sptd, and the reinstallation ( I see we are still at version 13) install StarPort instead of Sptd???

I am not using the SDK, only StarBurn standalone.


I see now that there were different builds of version 13, so that might explain it, but I always thought Sptd was a more universal driver.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Starburn installs StarPort Storage but not Sptd
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:47 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 4053
Location: British Virgin Islands
1) Did you reboot after uninstall? SPTD requires reboot both on install and uninstall.
2) StarPort and SPTD don't have any relation to each other.
3) You may download and install SPTD later from www.duplexsecure.com - download is free and public.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Starburn installs StarPort Storage but not Sptd
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 3:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 12:40 am
Posts: 3
Yes I did reboot. I don't want to install spdt unless I need it. Is it needed?

Thanks,

Phil


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Starburn installs StarPort Storage but not Sptd
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Posts: 4053
Location: British Virgin Islands
Yes, it does bypass broken filter drivers. So if you want reliable burning process - install it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group